Advisory Council

The Advisory Council of the Robert Frederick Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering was created in 1981 to assist in the development and long-range planning for the rapidly growing school.

To continue the tradition of excellence in professional programs while expanding graduate research programs, Julian C. Smith, then director of the school, asked representatives from industry and academia to join in providing the school "guidance from knowledgeable people who have an interest in the quality of our future-and who can help us in charting our directions." Advisory Council members serve a three-year term and convene once a year, meeting with faculty and students of the Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering as well as administrators of the College of Engineering.

Geoffrey Achilles

Geoffrey Achilles, Ph.D. *Council Chair
Manager, Process Gases Technology and Research Solutions
Air Products and Chemicals, Inc.

Douglas S. Clark

Douglas S. Clark, Ph.D.
Dean of the College of Chemistry 
University of California, Berkeley 

Stephanie Glass

Stephanie Glass
Distillation Subject Matter Expert
ExxonMobil Research and Engineering

Keith Gubbins, North Carolina State University

Keith Gubbins, Ph.D.
W.H. Clark Distinguished University Professor, Emeritus
North Carolina State University

Karen Havenstrite

Karen Havenstrite, Ph.D.
Co-founder, Chief Technical Officer
Tangible Science


Vibha Kalra

Vibha Kalra, Ph.D.
George B. Francis Endowed Chair Professor
Chemical and Biological Engineering
Drexel University

Kelvin H. Lee

Kelvin H. Lee, Ph.D.
Gore Professor of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering
Institute Director, National Institute for Innovation in Manufacturing Biopharmaceuticals (NIIMBL)
University of Delaware

Paul Mensah, Pfizer, Inc.

Paul Mensah, Ph.D.
Vice President, Bioprocess Research & Development
Biotherapeutics Pharmaceutical Sciences
Pfizer, Inc.


Fazeela Abdul Rashid

Fazeela Abdul Rashid
Revolution LLC 

Harvey G. Stenger

Harvey G. Stenger, Ph.D.
Binghamton University, State University of New York

Kathleen J. Stebe

Kathleen J. Stebe, Ph.D.
Richer & Elizabeth Goodwin Professor
Chemical & Biomolecular Engineering
Mechanical Engineering and Applied Mechanics
University of Pennsylvania


Kathleen Vaeth

Kathleen Vaeth, Ph.D.
Director of User Experience 

Todd Zion

Todd Zion, Ph.D. 
Co-founder, President, and CEO
Akston Biosciences Corporation