News: CBE

Lynden Archer

Lynden Archer listed as a 2019 Highly Cited Researcher by Web of Science

Web of Science has released its 2019 list of Highly Cited Researchers, recognizing the world's most influential researchers of the past decade, demonstrated by the production of multiple highly-cited papers that rank in the top 1% by citations for field and year. Among those listed are: Darrell Schlom, the Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor of Industrial Chemistry (MSE) David Muller, the Samuel B. Eckert Professor of Engineering (AEP) Debdeep Jena, the David E. Burr Professor of Engineering (ECE, MSE) Gennady Shvets, professor (AEP) Lynden Archer, the James A. Friend Family Distinguished Professor... Read more

Carolyn Shurer

CBE Best Paper of the Year Award Winner: Carolyn Shurer, Paszek Group

"Physical Principles of Membrane Shape Regulation by the Glycocalyx" Brief synopsis: In Physical Principles of Membrane Shape Regulation by the Glycocalyx, published in Cell in Shurer et. al. model the glycocalyx as a classic polymer brush; and we show for the first time how glycocalyx biopolymers can drive membrane bending via an entropic force into various membrane morphologies including membrane projections and vesicles. Both intracellular dynamics and glycocalyx-imposed forces work together to regulate membrane shapes. Read more

Food Science 1101

Students' hot new ice cream offers pinch of cayenne

The introductory Food Science 1101 class is offered each fall and explores the application of science and technology to foods. Late in the course, the students obtain hands-on experience, divide into teams, create concepts, experiment in their own kitchens and develop what they hope will be a winning ice cream flavor. Read more

Aravind Natarajan

Fall 2019 Austin Hooey Special Graduate Research Award winner: Aravind Natarajan

Aravind Natarajan, formerly of the DeLisa Research Group, will present a seminar in CBE: Monday, December 9 9:00 AM 255 Olin Hall Glycosylation and Science Blender – The Sweet Story of Adventures in Olin Hall Escherichia coli is an exceptional model organism, tolerant to additions and overhauls of metabolic pathways, and recombinant expression of diverse proteins making it a tractable chassis for both the study of complex biological systems and production of therapeutics. However, lab strains of E. coli are unable to perform critical posttranslational modifications, like glycosylation, that... Read more

Matt DeLisa

Prof. Matt DeLisa Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS)

Five Cornell faculty members have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), the world’s largest general scientific society. The association elected 443 new fellows in 2019, honoring their efforts to advance research and its applications in scientifically or socially distinguished ways. New fellows will be presented with an official certificate and a gold and blue (representing science and engineering, respectively) rosette pin at the AAAS annual meeting, Feb. 15, 2020 in Seattle, Washington. Read more

UG awardees

Smith School Seniors Take Home Top Honors at AIChE Meeting

This year, the Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular engineering sent eight members of the Class of 2020 to present research in a wide variety of topics. They were: 1. Jay Bender 2. Dylan Vu 3. Spencer Hong 4. Colette Schissel 5. Jody Mohammad 6. Michelle Quien 7. Priyanka Konan 8. Swetha Thiagarajan Of the eight who presented research, an outstanding five won awards in respective categories. Those who won awards are: 1. Jay Bender - 3rd Place; Catalysis & Reaction Engineering V 2. Dylan Vu - 1st Place; Materials Science & Engineering IX 3. Spencer Hong - 2nd Place; Computing & Process... Read more

Rachel LeCover

Rachel LeCover, Varner Research Group, won best paper at FOSBE

Rachel LeCover, PhD student, won the best paper award for her paper entitled: "Kinetic Modeling of Coagulation and Fibrinolysis” at the Foundations of Systems Biology in Engineering (FOSBE) conference in Valencia, Spain in October 2019. To read more about the Varner group, please visit the website: To read more about the FOSBE program, please visit: Read more


Cornell partners in $10M poultry science grant

One of the grant’s sustainability components also involves a collaboration between Cornell researchers Jefferson Tester, the David Croll Sesquicentennial Fellow and Professor in the Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, and Johannes Lehmann, the Liberty Hyde Bailey Professor of soil and crop sciences in the School of Integrated Plant Science. Other participating Cornell faculty include: Fengqi You, the Roxanne E. and Michael J. Zak Professor, Smith School of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering; Beth Ahner, professor in the Department of Biological and Environmental... Read more

Archer research image

Archer Group Published in Science on Their Concept Using Epitaxy to Regulate Reactions in Battery Anode

Jingxu (Kent) Zheng, Qing Zhao et al. from Prof. Lynden Archer’s research group, report on a new concept that utilizes epitaxy to template the metal electrodeposition morphology in battery anodes, resulting in highly stable battery anodes that can operate over 10,000 cycles at ultrahigh rate. In the latest issue of Science, appears a report from the Archer group describing a novel strategy to manipulate electrochemical and interfacial reactions in battery anodes that utilize metals such as Lithium, Sodium, Zinc, and Aluminum for low-cost & high-energy storage of electricity. In the paper, they... Read more